2017 Pinwheel Blanket – General Information

At the beginning of this year, on the 3rd of January to be precise, I finally finished my Mitered Square Sock Yarn Blanket. I decided I wanted to start another similar type blanket as I still have a lot of sock yarn left over and will continue to do so as I really like knitting socks. But I didn’t want to do the mitered square again. Some time ago Mina from The Knitting Expat Podcast started a Pinwheel blanket. I quite liked the idea of this pinwheel blanket as it’s smaller squares which then need to be attached to one another. Obviously this blanket was not designed for sock yarn, but I’m following the instructions regardless and my blocks will obviously come out smaller than the original, but I’m ok with that.

170107-wip-2017-pinwheel-rainbow-blanket-002

I enjoyed knitting the mitered square blanket on my 3mm Prym circulars until they unfortunately broke towards the end of the project, but I substituted them with my 3mm Sullivan’s Bamboo Knitting Needles straights I purchased at Lincraft in Melbourne, Australia when I was there in 2009 visiting a friend. I bought several sizes at the time in their shortest size, which according to the website is 25cm. So I decided to continue with these for this new blanket as well.

2017-003-2017-pinwheel-blanket-layout

After having knit one block I could see that my original plan of 4×5 was not going to be big enough, so I drew up the above schematic and decided on a blanket of 6×8. This is not going to be a queen sized blanket, this is just going to be a lap blanket. I decided that as I don’t really like sewing blocks together, and I quite liked the border idea of my other blanket, that I’m going to be doing a crochet border around each block. I will then use the JAYG (join-as-you-go) method to join the blocks together. As I have quite a lot of yarn left over from the border colour I used in my mitered square blanket, I’ll be using the same yarn, which is Garnstudio Drops Fabel in 107 Navy.

2017-003-2017-pinwheel-blanket-individual-block

My plan for this blanket is to have it done by the end of the year, but we’ll see how that goes. To not leave all the weaving in of ends to the end (like I did for the other blanket), I’ve decided to knit all the blocks for one row and then weave in ends and attach the blocks to one another.

I will create a separate post per block so as to list all the yarns used in that specific block.

PROJECT INFORMATION

Pattern:

Country Quilt Baby Blanket by Caron

Yarn Used:

A variety of sock yarn for the blocks
Please refer to each individual block post for further information

Garnstudio Drops Fabel in 107 Navy for the border.

Needles Used:

3mm straights by Sullivan’s Bamboo Knitting Needles 20cm

STITCH COUNT:

Each triangle has 650sts

There are 8 triangles in each block
so 8x650sts = 5200sts/block

There will be 48 blocks in the blanket
so 48x5200sts = 249.600sts/blanket

Crochet border per block has:
1st block – 212 stitches
rest of row 1 + 1st block of subsequent rows – 264 stitches

All other blocks – 316 stitches
each border section around the block uses approximately 4g = 16.4m / 18yds
TOTAL stitch count = 264040 stitches
approximately

About rgoriginals

I love to travel and do crafts and spend time with friends and my dogs
This entry was posted in KAL, Knitting, WIPs. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 2017 Pinwheel Blanket – General Information

  1. Pingback: 2017 Pinwheel Blanket – Row 1/6 – Block 1/48 | rgoriginals

  2. Pingback: 2017 Pinwheel Blanket – Row 1/6 – Block 2/48 | rgoriginals

  3. Pingback: 2017 Pinwheel Blanket – Row 1/8 – Block 3/48 | rgoriginals

  4. Pingback: 2017 Pinwheel Blanket – Row 1/8 – Block 4/48 | rgoriginals

  5. Pingback: 2017 Pinwheel Blanket – Row 1/8 – Block 5/48 | rgoriginals

  6. Pingback: 2017 Pinwheel Blanket – Row 1/8 – Block 6/48 | rgoriginals

  7. Pingback: 2017 Pinwheel Blanket – Row 1/8 – Overview | rgoriginals

  8. Pingback: 2017 Pinwheel Blanket – Row 2/8 – Block 7/48 | rgoriginals

  9. Pingback: 2017 Pinwheel Blanket – Row 2/8 – Block 8/48 | rgoriginals

  10. Pingback: 2017 Pinwheel Blanket – Row 2/8 – Block 10/48 | rgoriginals

  11. Pingback: 2017 Pinwheel Blanket – Row 2/8 – Block 11/48 | rgoriginals

  12. Pingback: 2017 Pinwheel Blanket – Row 1+2/8 – Overview | rgoriginals

Leave a Reply

