Westy’s Besties KAL Project 2 – Kex Blanket

The KAL is now officialy over, and I’ve received all 12 patterns plus an extra, however I’m only on my 2nd project of the KAL. Reason, I started with the bigger projects and a lot of other participants in the KAL started with the smaller accessories.

The moment I saw the pictures for the KEX BLANKET, I just knew I had to knit it. I really wanted to knit this blanket, but I just didn’t have enough yarn in my stash to complete this project, so I planned to put this project on the back burner for now as I wasn’t going to buy any yarn in the first 6 months of 2013. Easier said that done of course. The pattern was really calling to me, I just had to knit it, so I went online and searched for the perfect yarn to substitute the originally called from Brooklyn Tweed Shelter which would be too expensive. I ended up choosing a yarn I’d only worked with once before, but which I’d loved, Rowan Felted Tweed.

Joana at Ovelha Negra helped me choose the colours. We started with what would be the main colour which I needed the most skeins off, so the choice was between the two browns she had in stock, I ended up choosing the lighter of the two.

130303-kex blanket-004

My colour A.

Next I had to choose three more colours that would all go well with Colour A, but also with each other and I ended up choosing a Forest Green, a Blue and a Purple/Pink.

130303-kex blanket-005

Colour B.

130303-kex blanket-002

Colour C.

130303-kex blanket-003

Colour D (it’s blue trust me, the photo didn’t come out too good).

130303-kex blanket-001

I was really pleased with the colour combination in the shop, but once I started knitting with Colour A and B I started doubting myself, but I decided to give it the benefit of the doubt and push on.

130310-WBKAL-kex blanket-003

This is the blanket so far, I’ve only completed the first section, but I’m glad I pushed on I am really loving it so far. The purple/pink is just what the blanket need to give it that brightness. I still have a ways to go before completing this and as it’s a large project (too big to carry with me to and from work everyday), I only work on it in the evenings, so it might take me several months yet. At least it should be ready for next winter.

Now to just figure out how to keep it safe from my dogs, as Mr. Rusty has pretty much claimed it already.

About rgoriginals

I love to travel and do crafts and spend time with friends and my dogs
This entry was posted in KAL, Knitting, WIPs, Yarns. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Westy’s Besties KAL Project 2 – Kex Blanket

  1. Your blanket is looking spectacular!!!! I’m working on one too and I have a question for you….did you run into a problem with your horizontal band puckering? Mine did where the vertical raised stitches are close together. All I can figure is that it’s because the vertical pattern has a bit of a rib effect.

    • rgoriginals says:

      I noticed on the scarf that that did indeed happen, but I think that blocking will definitely sort that out, since I’ve not blocked my scarf yet, but I think the same will apply for the blanket. During knitting we’re going to see the puckering, but afterwards with blocking it should sort itself out.

      • Thanks for your help! I think I’m going to rip out the horizontal band and go down 1 needle size to help ease the puckering before blocking. I really love the effect of the entire pattern….I’m really fascinated by the way Stephen plays with stitches and patterns to create such interesting textures. 🙂

Leave a Reply

