Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne

On Sunday morning my friend Mira and I caught the train into the city and then we walked from Flinders Street Station to the Royal Botanic Garden, a place where, despite having lived here for the last 2 years, she’d not visited before. I love going to big gardens like this where you can see a diverse range of plant life as well as animal life. We started off going through the Asian part of the garden where the majority of the plants came from China. There were some really lovely plants, some of which I’d never seen before in my life. As we carried on through the gardens we saw tree after tree (as you expect), but each one bigger than the one before. I had to be standing really far away to be able to take a photo of the complete tree most of the time, but then you can’t really tell the actual size. So on some of the really big ones, we took photos of us standing next to the tree to show the actual size of it.


My favorite garden though was the Elisabeth Murdoch Californian Garden (photo above), mainly because of its simplicity, but also because I love cacti and fatty leaved plants, and this garden contained that. The Californian Poppies were also great, although not many were in bloom. The other flower that attracted me to this garden and isn’t on this photo was an orange flower, but there was no name plate (at least no visible) so I can’t tell you the type of flower it is, just that is was small and very bright orange. Below a picture of me by one of the other gardens (can’t remember which one). I’m not actually as white as I look in the photo, the sun was just really shining on me at the time and that’s why I look so white on the photo.

About rgoriginals

I love to travel and do crafts and spend time with friends and my dogs
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment